City Council

The City Council is comprised of five members, all are elected from districts.  Each member serves a four-year term.  There is no limitation to the number of terms to serve.

As the legislative branch of City government, the Council has the responsibility to enact laws, make policy, and appropriate funds. Prior to the enactment of any type of legislation, the Council conducts a public hearing at a Council meeting on the issue to afford citizens the opportunity to comment. The Council has regularly scheduled meetings on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month. Special meetings are also held as needed if emergency or special circumstances occur.  Committee of the Whole meetings are held on Tuesday between the first and second regular council meeting each month unless otherwise stated.

The City Council encourages citizens to attend these meetings and express their views.

Click Here for Council Member individual bios.