Donaldsonville Mayor's Youth Advisory Council awards scholarships to local students


The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council of the City of Donaldsonville (MYAC) rolled out the red carpet on Dec. 5 for an Oscars-style affair at the Lemann Center, Donaldsonville.

In addition to the glitz, MYAC awarded book scholarships to graduates who serve as a positive example to young people, demonstrate outstanding youth leadership, promote responsible citizenship and achieved a significant civic accomplishment at school or in the community. The graduating class of 2015 from Ascension Catholic High School and Donaldsonville High School who met the minimum requirements were welcome to apply.

The sponsors and award winners are as follows:

Founder's: Attorney Bernard J. Francis Sr. - Allegra Asberry

City of Donaldsonville: Councilman Lauthaught Delaney Sr., District 1 - Meagan Brooks

Councilman Raymond Aucoin, District 2 - Dominique A. Thomas

Councilman Reginald L. Francis Sr., District 3 - Jordynn Brown

Councilman Rev. Charles Brown Sr., District 4 - Daja Cox and Tre Skidmore

Councilman Emile Spano, District 5 - Tyler Montero

Parish of Ascension: Councilman Oliver Joseph, District 1 - Jordan P. Zeringue

Mayor Leroy Sullivan Sr. - Lawrence Brown III, Maerys Joseph, and Jimmia Williams.

The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Council consists of a group of diverse, young leaders committed to making a difference in Donaldsonville. They work on issues important to youth, talk to their peers, families and neighbors about their concerns and take action to address them. MYAC Commissioners represent high school students in their schools and neighborhoods. They meet with leaders of the community like the Mayor, City Council members, business owners and community groups to advocate for youth. MYAC meetings are open. MYAC’s motto is “Young People Leading the Way to a Better Tomorrow”.

For more information on MYAC, visit

To keep updated on the City of Donaldsonville, “like” the Facebook page at and follow on Twitter at