Donaldsonville Mayor's Youth Advisory Council inducts members

 MYAC1 1

New commissioners of the Donaldsonville Mayor's Youth Advisory Council are sworn-in Tuesday by City Attorney Chuck Long.

The City of Donaldsonville's youth governmental organization officially entered its second year Tuesday, August 11.

Originally conceived in 1996, the group was dormant for several years until its revival last year.

During Tuesday's City Council meeting, the 2015-2016 youth commissioners were inducted.

The group's organizer, Tamiko Francis Garrison, introduced the members, who represent both Donaldsonville High School and Ascension Catholic High School.

She said the purpose of the organization is to get the youth involved with the city, and learn leadership and civic skills in the process.

Mayor Leroy Sullivan commended the group on its successful start last year, noting that they "hit the ground running" and brought forth many positives.

"Serve like you love Donaldsonville and you want to see it as a better community," Sullivan told the youth commissioners.


The 2015-2016 Commissioners of the Mayor's Youth Advisory Council pose following their induction ceremony Tuesday. Also shown are members of the City Council (Emile Spano, Lauthaught Delaney, Reginald Francis, and Rev. Charles Brown), Mayor Leroy Sullivan, and MYAC Director Tamiko Francis Garrison.

The MYAC commissioners include Whitney Eure, Catherine, Eure, Kerrionne Brown, Darell Honora, Victoria Eure, Nina Smith, Whitney Baker, Tamiko Stroud (president), Katilyn Williams (vice president), Maerys Joseph (secretary/treasurer), Paige Joseph (parliamentarian), Jalon Chatman (Sgt. at Arms), Jimmia Williams (social media director and chairperson of committees), and Lawrence Brown III (social media director).

Additionally, Brown was awarded a proclamation for his participation in the BASF Science Academy.

For more information, see the MYAC web site at: