Donaldsonville Chamber honors Becky Katz on 34-year career


Donaldsonville Area Chamber of Commerce President Allison B. Hudson and Citizen of the Year Becky Katz

In 1981, Ronald Reagan was President, Jessie's Girl was on the radio, and Raiders of the Lost Ark was on the big screen.

That was also the year that Becky Katz began a new job with the Donaldsonville Area Chamber of Commerce.

Now, 34 years later, she retires after leaving quite an imprint on the community she served.

Wednesday night, the  Chamber of Commerce honored Katz by recognizing her as its Citizen of the Year.

During festivities at Palazzo Bernardo, she graciously thanked everyone for their continous support over the years.

She also expressed appreciation for the united front demonstrated when she and late husband Roy fought the battle of their lives. While fighting cancer, she said cards of encouragement, pies at the door, and offers of assistance were abundant.

"The love and caring of this community will never be forgotten," she stressed.

Originally, her family move to Donaldsonville when she was six years old. Over the years, her love for the area only grew.

"We had several opportunities to leave, but how can you leave something that has become a part of you? Donaldsonville is my home!" Katz said.

Teenager of the Year nominees

As in the past, the Chamber also honored six outstanding teenagers in the community.

The nominees all had extensive and impressive backgrounds. They also were interviewed previously by Chamber directors.

Jordan Zeringue, an Ascension Catholic High School student, was named the Teenager of the Year.

Nominees from both Donaldsonville High School and Ascension Catholic included Shaun Brown, Zachary Capello, Dominique Thomas, Emily Villa, and Jason Williams.

Guest speakers Leia Scott, Dr. Jennifer Straney, and Wanda August

Three special guest speakers were on hand for the evening: Wanda August, Dr. Jennifer Straney, and Leia Scott. August and Straney are past Teenager of the Year Award recipients. Scott serves as a teacher at Donaldsonville High School.

Mayor Leroy Sullivan gave the invocation and benediction.

The 2015 Chamber Board of Directors include: Allison B. Hudson, President; DeRon Talley, Vice President; Malissa Boudreaux, Treasurer; Marvin Gros, Karen Hartman, Brent Barbier, Missy Jandura, Paul Landry IV, Rick Bergeron, John Daigle, Tamiko Garrison, Jake LeBlanc, Donna Gaignard, Lydia Hambrick, and Daryl Comery.

For more photos from the event, see: