City Government

The current Mayor and City Council:

Mayorcg Mayor: Leroy J. Sullivan Sr.
(225) 806-8207 (mobile)
(225) 473-4247 ext. 10 (office)

Mayor Sullivan has served three terms on the City Council for the City of Donaldsonville from 1993-2004.  He is currently serving his third term as Mayor of the City of Donaldsonville.  He has managed and directed a force of over 40 employees for the last 10 years and a budget of approximately $7,000,000 dollars for the past two years.

He is a lifelong member of the Mt. Zion Baptist Church where he has dutifully served as a deacon.  Mayor Sullivan acknowledged that God has greater works for him and accepted his call into the ministry.  He is currently attending the New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary through First Baptist Church in Gonzales, where he is learning and gaining deeper knowledge of the word of God.

During his twenty-six years of employment at CF Industries, he served as supervisor sixteen of those years.  Mayor Sullivan has held the title of Worship Master of the Hiram Lodge #12 Free and Accepted Masons.  At one point, he held the title of the youngest Worship Master in the State of Louisiana. He has also held the titles of Commissioner with the Lafourche Basin and Levee District, Commissioner of the Louisiana Airport Authority, Commissioner with the Louisiana Uniform Construction Code and a member of the Donaldsonville Rotary Club.
Delaney Councilman District 1: Lauthaught Delaney Sr.
(225) 717-0695

Lauthaught Delaney Sr. has served as a councilman for District 1 since 2010. He is a life-long resident of Donaldsonville and a graduate of Donaldsonville High School and Westside Vocational Technical School. He is a member of Mt. Triumph Baptist Church and Hiram Lodge #12 Free and Accepted Masons. Lauthaught retired after 40 years of employment with Americas Styrenics, LLC.

Aucoin Councilman District 2: Raymond Aucoin
(225) 717-2540

Raymond Aucoin has served on the city council since 2005. He has been in the banking industry for 30 years, currently employed at First American Bank and Trust in Donaldsonville for the last 15 years. He is a graduate of Ascension Catholic High School, Nicholls State University, and received a Master’s degree from Louisiana State University.

Francis Councilman District 3: Reginald L. Francis Sr.
(225) 473-7220

Reginald Francis Sr. is a lifelong resident of Donaldsonville. He is a graduate of Donaldsonville High School. He is active not only in his community but also in his church, St. Catherine of Sienna Catholic Church. Now retired, Francis Sr. has worked as a brick mason, a fireman, and an operator at PCS Nitrogen. He retired from Terra Nitrogen after 32 years of employment.
Francis Sr. is passionate about the City of Donaldsonville and committed to its prosperity.
Brown Councilman District 4: Rev. Charles Brown Sr.
(225) 717-6057

Charles Brown has served as Councilman of District 4 since 2005. As a City Councilman, Rev. Brown has strived to be a voice and leader in city government and in the community as he addresses social, educational, economical, and political issues within our city. He is currently employed with the Ascension Parish Office of Homeland Security/Emergency Preparedness. Rev. Brown is married with two children, and he also currently serves as pastor of Emmanuel Baptist Church. In his spare time, he volunteers in the schools and works with the youths in the community. He is committed, called and commission to serve.

Councilman District 5: Brent Landry


The Donaldsonville City Council approved the appointment of Brent Landry as interim Councilman for District 5 during a special meeting held Tuesday, May 31, 2016. Landry succeeds the late Emile Spano, who passed away at age 68. Landry works as an agent for Shelter Insurance in Donaldsonville.


City of Donaldsonville Hours -
7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday; 7:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Friday

City of Donaldsonville - (225) 473-4247 (main line)


  • Gas - (225) 473-4247 ext. 24
  • Streets - (225) 473-4247 ext. 18
  • Sewer - (225) 473-4247 ext. 19
  • Finance - (225) 473-4247 ext. 14
  • Permits, Taxes, Animal Control - (225) 473-4247 ext. 20
  • Mayor - (225) 473-4247 ext. 10
  • Accounts Payable/Receivable - (225) 473-4247 ext. 15
  • After-hours emergency - (225) 806-8215


City of Donaldsonville Hours
7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday; 7:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. Friday

City of Donaldsonville
(225) 473-4247 (main line)

Department extensions
Gas 24; Streets 18; Sewer 19; Finance 14; Permits, Taxes, Animal Control 20; Mayor 10; Accounts 15

After-hours emergency
(225) 806-8215

Fire Department
700 Lafourche St., Donaldsonville, LA 70346 - (225) 473-0664

Natural Gas Division
P.O. Box 470, Donaldsonville, LA 70346
Phone: (225) 473-4247 - Business Fax: (225) 473-0630